© Histolomorephology & Ultrastructural Imaging Platform, University of Manitoba, Canada,  2020

Welcome

Histology Services

The histology platform provides services for researchers and students to process their tissues and cells for histopathological examination. We offer paraffin, cryo, and electron microscopy techniques including processing, embedding, sectioning, staining and imaging. We have a variety of histology staining techniques with the ability to develop special stains upon request for specific projects. Selected immunofluorescent and immunohistochemical detection and special assays are also available upon request. Histomorphometry studies related to changes in histopathology of samples can be identified using new techniques in imaging and analysis. To request a histology service, please contact the histology lab via phone or email to discuss your request PRIOR to sample drop off. At this time we will have a consultation and provide you with a cost estimate for your approval. Once the estimate is approved you will be provided information about the correct way to prepare your samples for optimal results. We will then schedule an appointment for sample drop off. Your samples must be accompanied by the completed Work Request Form, Sample Submission Form, Sample Waiver Form, and signed estimate we will have prepared after your consultation. Please do not bring samples to the lab without an appointment. Please also see the information on the website about sample preparation on the Paraffination Service, Cryo Service, and Electron Microscopy pages.

Contact Us

Histology Office: Room 119 Histology Laboratory: Room 117 Phone: 204-789-3508 E-mail: histology_services@umanitoba.ca Dr. Sabine Hombach-Klonisch - Department Head Sabine.Hombach-klonisch@umanitoba.ca Dr. Thomas Klonisch - Platform Director Thomas.klonisch@umanitoba.ca Mrs. Dana Henderson - Histological Technician Dana.Henderson@umanitoba.ca Mrs. Farhana Begum - Histological Technician Farhana.Begum@umanitoba.ca Mrs. Yulien Niu - Histological Technician Yulian.Niu@umanitoba.ca 745 Bannatyne Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3E 0J9 Basic Medical Science Building Department of Human Anatomy and Cell Science
Histomorphology & Ultrastructural Imaging Platform