team members

Lab Director

Carl Ho

Lab Director

Carl Ngai Man Ho

Dr. Carl Ho received his BEng and MEng double degrees and PhD degree in electronic engineering at the City University of Hong Kong in 2002 and 2007, respectively. His PhD research was focused on dynamic voltage regulation and restoration technology for power quality and energy saving issues.

Before he started his PhD study, he has been an Engineer in a technology company in Hong Kong for two years. In 2007-2014, he has been at ABB Switzerland Ltd., Switzerland, and was appointed different positions, including Scientist, Principal Scientist, Global Intellectual Property Coordinator, and the last position was R&D Principal Engineer. At ABB, he has led an international research project team to develop solar inverter technologies for three years. In October 2014, he joined University of Manitoba, currently he is Professor and Canada Research Chair in Efficient Utilization of Electric Power. In July 2021, he was appointed as Associate Head (Electrical Engineering) of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Manitoba.

Dr. Ho is an IEEE Senior Member and serves as an Editor of the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (JESTPE), an Associate Editor (AE) of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics (TPEL) and he was the Associate Editor-in-Chief (AEiC) of the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems (JETCAS) in 01/2022—12/2023. He received the Second Place Winner for 2018 Prize Paper Awards of TPEL and he was the recipient of the Associate Editor Awards of the MPCE in 2020, the IEEE JESTPE in 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, and the IEEE TPEL in 2023. And his leading project team Winnie the Power received Best Student Team Regional Award of the IEEE Empower a Billion Lives 2019 competition in the Americas region.

Click here to Carl Ho's personal webpage.

PostDoc Fellow

PhD Students

MSc Students

BSc Students (2024 Summer)

Alumni and Current Positions (2024)

PhD 1. King Man Siu (Ph.D., 2015 - 2019), Assistant Professor, University of North Texas, Texas, USA.

PhD 2. Radwa Abdalaal (Ph.D., 2016 - 2020), Senior Power System Consultant, Siemens PTI, Vancouver, Canada.

PhD 3. Mandip Pokharel (Ph.D., 2016 - 2020), Power System Analyst, IESO, Mississauga, Canada.

PhD 4. Dong Li (Ph.D., 2015 - 2020), Senior Simulation Specialist, RTDS Inc., Winnipeg, Canada.

PhD 5. Yanming Xu (Ph.D., 2016 - 2021), Power Electronics Designer, Power Integrations Inc., Ottawa, Canada.

PhD 6. Isuru Jayawadana (Ph.D., 2016 - 2021), HVDC Specialist, Hatch Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada.

PhD 7. Jalal Dadkhah (Ph.D., 2020 - 2024), Simulation Specialist, RTDS Inc., Winnipeg, Canada.

MSc 1. Yang Zhou (M.Sc., 2015 - 2017), Power System Engineer, Electric Power Engineers, Winnipeg, Canada.

MSc 2. Avishek Ghosh (M.Sc., 2016 - 2019), Electrical EIT, New Flyer Inc., Winnipeg Canada.

MSc 3. Zhuang Zhang (M.Sc., 2017 - 2020), Simulation Specialist, RTDS Inc., Winnipeg, Canada.

MSc 4. Hafis Umar-Lawal (M.Sc., 2018 - 2021), Power Electronics Developer, dcbel energy, Montreal, Canada.

MSc 5. Reza Alavi (M.Sc., 2020 - 2022), Electrical EIT, Fortinet, Burnaby, Canada.

MSc 6. Yin Fang (M.Sc., 2020 - 2022), PhD Student, UofM, Winnipeg, Canada.

Co-MSc 1. Vianey Mateo (M.Sc., 2014 - 2018), Power System Study Engineer, Electranix Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada.

Co-MSc 2. Hang Li (M.Sc., 2015 - 2019), Power System Study Engineer, Electranix Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada.